Connect with us


Trump: US insist on travel ban against Nigeria, others as Pelosi reacts



United States House of Representatives has reacted to the decision of President Donald Trump to extend his administration’s travel ban that will affect Nigeria and some other countries.

Recalled that, Trump signed the original travel ban on January 27, 2017, just a week into his tenure. The ban was upheld by the US Supreme Court on June 26, 2018.

Countries affected are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, Venezuela and North Korea.

However, from the new restrictions, countries included on the list are Belarus, Myanmar (also known as Burma), Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan and Tanzania.

Meanwhile on Monday the US House of Representatives vow to consider legislation that would repeal the travel ban and limit the president from imposing future restrictions.

House Speaker, Nancy Pelosi said from the stane of Democrats from the House, that they will consider ‘NO BAN act”

“House Democrats continue to stand opposed to President Trump’s cruel, un-American travel ban in all of its iterations.

“In the coming weeks, the House Judiciary Committee will mark up and bring to the floor the NO BAN Act to prohibit religious discrimination in our immigration system and limit the president’s ability to impose such biased and bigoted restrictions,” Pelosi said in a statement.

Democratic Senator, Chris Coons, one of the authors of the NO BAN Act denounced what he called the “intentional use of cruelty” in the Trump’s administration’s immigration policy and said the Muslim ban was based on “prejudice, populism and discrimination”, rather than fact or security considerations.

“Our whole effort in introducing this legislation and trying to move it forward is to say our Supreme Court got it wrong,”from Reporters.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply