Connect with us


Sen Elisha Abbo wins APC candidate as tribunal rules in his favour



Abbo wins in tribunal

The National Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal for Adamawa State has affirmed the election of Sen Ishaku Abbo for Adamawa North Senatorial District.

The election tribunal which gave the judgement in Yola, dismissed it on the grounds of incompetence of the petitioners to prove their case.

The petitioners, Sen Garba Binta Masi and his party All Progressives Congress (APC), had based their petition on claims of over-voting, non-use of card readers, and other cases of ‘noncompliance with the Electoral Act.’

The petitioners asked that Senator Abbo’s election be nullified and for the conduct of a supplementary election in polling units where in actuality the alleged infractions took place.

The respondents, Abbo and his Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), however, countered the petition, saying the election which produced Abbo was conducted in substantial compliance with the Electoral Act.

Delivering the judgement, Chairman of the election petition tribunal, Justice Suleiman Akanbi, said the petitioners failed to make concrete evidence to back their allegations of lack insufficient compliance with the Electoral Act.

Also Read: APC rejects Buhari’s Nominee for NDDC Board

“The witnesses didn’t help the case,” he explained, adding that the petitioners fell short of lacking in Section 181 of the Evidence Act which needs a petitioner to supply convincing proof.

“He who alleges must provide proof,” he concluded, and dismissed the petition.

Answering the judgement, Sen Binta Masi Garba said through her counsels would go for appeal.

Sen Abbo, in an interaction with newsmen after the tribunal judgement, advised her to listen to the voice of the people.

Abbo said, “The voice of the people is the voice of God.

“People have spoken through their ballot, and today, a court of competent jurisdiction has affirmed the people’s choice.”

Sen Binos Yaroe of the PDP had earlier been affirmed as having been duly elected for Adamawa South Zone tribunal dismissed a petition against him by his predecessor, Sen Ahmad Mo’Allayidi of APC.

Similarly, petitions against Hon Abdurazak Namdas of APC and Hon Kwamoti Laori of PDP were dismissed by the tribunal, consequently sacking the lawmakers to vacate the seats at the National Assembly.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply