Connect with us


9 Lawmakers in Imo State defects to APC



9 lawmakers defect to APC

Tuesday’s plenary in Imo State saw 9 Lawmakers defecting to All Progressive Congress, APC in the State.

Just as the Deputy Speaker of the House, Okey Onyekanma, resigned his position. He is a member of Peoples’ Democratic Party.

Information reaching our newsroom had it that more lawmakers have concluded plans to move to APC in the next sitting.

However, the defection letters by the decampees were read by the Speaker of the House.

This online media had earlier published the decamping rumors looming in the house before the sitting.

Meanwhile, before the decamping APC had only one lawmaker in the state House of Assembly while the PDP has a majority of 17 lawmakers with the Action Alliance and the All Progressives Grand Alliance having the remaining lawmakers.

Speaker also announced the screening of the Attorney General of Imo State, Cyprain Akaolisa, as appointed by the governor, Hope Uzodinma.

Recalled that Last Tuesday the apex court, in a unanimous decision, ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to issue Uzodinma a certificate of return.

More Details Later…


Click to comment

Leave a Reply