Connect with us


Meet the four appointees of President Buhari from Akwa Ibom into NDDC



Akwa Ibom NDDC

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed four Akwa Ibom sons (Akpabio, Enang, Oto-Obong and Antai) into NDDC.

The president is empowered by the constitution to appoint ministers, Special Assistants, Aides and constitutes several boards amongst others.

Buharia, who is on his second term as the President of Nigeria, in his Next Level political agenda has appointed the following Akwa Ibom sons into one ministry (NDDC)

Senator Godswill Akpabio is the head the ministry in Buhari’s cabinet as the Minister of Niger Delta Affairs.

Akpabio was a commissioner for almost eight years and a two terms governor of Akwa Ibom State under the Platform of Peoples Democratic Party.

He also served as a senate minority leader for PDP in the 8th Assembly before decamping to APC in August 2018.

Akpabio’s re-election bid on the platform of APC was lost to the former deputy governor, Engr. Chris Ekpeyong of PDP.

See the full list of NDDC Board appointed by Buhari on 2019

Senator Ita Solomon Enang is to serve as the Senior Special Assistant (SSA) to the President on Niger Delta Affairs.

Ita Enang was the former SSA to the President on National Assembly matters (Senate)

Senator Enang has served 16 years as a legislator under PDP, where he spent 12 years in the House of Representatives and was appointed, Chairman Business, Rules and Ethics.

Also, he was also in the Senate for four years as the senator representing Uyo senatorial District.

He joined the ruling All Progressive Party (APC) in 2015 after the re-election of former President, Goodluck Jonathan failed.

Hon. Otobong Ndem is to serve as Director of Projects, Niger Delta Development Commission.

Oto-Obong Ndem was the House of Assembly Member representing Mkpat Enin state constituency in the sixth Assembly.

He is a trained Engineer by profession.

Also Read: Court Pronouncement on Sowore

Hon. Victor Antai is to serve as a Commissioner in the NDDC Board as constituted by President Buhari.

Victor Antai was the former commissioner of Culture and Tourism under the government of Udom Gabriel Emmanuel.

Antai resigned his appointment immediately the news of Senator Akpabio’s defection and ‘movement’ to APC was in the air.

He contested primaries for senatorial seat but lost to the then incumbent Senator, Nelson Effiong who later lost to PDP female candidate, Akon Eyakenyi.

Antai was given ticket of APC for Oron federal Constituency but he lost in the general election to PDP candidate Hon. Nse Ekpenyong

Victor Antai had served as Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs also as Commissioner for Culture and Tourism under Udom Emmanuel of PDP.

 Appointtees of the President from Akwa Ibom to NDDC

Godswill Obot Akpabio is from Ukana in Essien Udim, Ikot Ekpene Federal Constituency in Ikot Ekpene senatorial District

Ita Enang is from Ibiono Ibom, Ibiono/Itu federal constituency in Uyo Senatorial District

Victor Antai is from Mbo Local government, Oron Federal Constituency in Eket Senatorial District

Oto-Obong Ndem is from Mkpat Enin, Ikot Abasi Federal Constituency in Eket Senatorial District.

However, it has not been cleared if the formation of only the Niger Deltans are sent to the Commission to solve the problems of the region or to fight corruption.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply